Department of Surgery, Home


    Dr. Richard Novick Wins Award of Excellence
    [May 2007]  Dr. Richard Novick has been awarde...
    Badhwar Awarded CIHR
    [May 2007]  A group application to the CIHR ai...
    Welcome New Department Members
    A Message from our Chair/Chief, Dr. John Denstedt: ...

    The University of Western Ontario has two affiliated teaching hospitals: London Health Sciences Centre and St. Joseph's Health Care London. Recent restructuring has consolodated our programs to two acute care sites and one ambulatory care site, all with excellent operating room facilities and clinic areas. The Department of Surgery is composed of eight divisions:

    • Cardiac Surgery
    • General Surgery
    • Orthopaedic Surgery
    • Paediatric Surgery
    • Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
    • Thoracic Surgery
    • Urologic Surgery
    • Vascular Surgery

    Each of the Divisions has an active postgraduate training program, with the exception of paediatric surgery. Complete training is offered in all of these specialties.

    The University of Western Ontario has a strong tradition of excellence in clinical postgraduate training. Surgeons are actively involved in the undergraduate training program with participation in the subject development groups as well as in patient-centred learning. Clerkship seminars are offered on a daily basis by consultant surgeons at all sites in the city.

    There is a wide spectrum of basic science research as well as clinical trials research and these are described under the Divisional initiatives.